The Air Force Academy men’s rugby team began in 1968. In 1980, Air Force began competing in collegiate rugby under USA Rugby. Since that time, Air Force has made 13 final four appearances in the national tournament, earning national championships in 1989, 1990, and 2003. Multiple players have gone on to represent the USA on the Men’s National Rugby Team, including Ben Trautwein, Matt Schmitz, Josh Dean, Mike Hobson, Brian Lemay, and Eric Duechle.


Four National Champions: ’78 (pre-USA Rugby national championship tournament), ’89, ’90, ’03

Five-Time National Championship Runners-Up: ’80, ’83, ’87, ’93, ’95

Five Other Appearances at the Final Four: ’86, ’88, ’92, ’94, ’04


About the Zoomie Rugby Booster Club

The Zoomie Rugby Booster Club was formed to assist the Air Force Academy rugby team and cadets with funding resources not covered by the Air Force Academy. The Air Force Academy sponsors over 90 clubs which each get an apportioned share of overall club funding. However, due to the competivite nature of the sport of rugby and our requirement to travel to compete in our conference, the Rugby Team's have associated costs much higher than the apportioned club funds can support. Addtitionally, unlike other service academies, the USAFA Rugby teams recieves no finacial or material support from the Athletic Department, only a field to practice/play on.